News Photo
Women's Basketball - Sun, Feb. 17, 2013

The 2013 Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) women's basketball conference tournament is starting just like last year's. Davenport and Concordia tied for the regular season crown again and Davenort once again gets the top seed based on a tie breaker. First round games start Wednesday, Feb. 20 with top seeds hosting.

Davenport (20-2) and Concordia (20-2) split during the season, each winning at their home venue, and both also lost once to Madonna on the road. The tie was broken based on overall winning percentage against NAIA Division II opponents. Davenport won the top seed and will host No. 8 Northwestern Ohio (6-14) Concordia takes the second seed and hosts the #7 seed Michigan-Dearborn (9-13).

Siena Heights, ranked No. 21 in the last NAIA poll, grabbed the third seed with a conference record of 17-5 and Madonna (15-7) landed as the fourth seed. SHU hosts No. 6 Indiana Tech (11-11) and Madonna hosts fifth-seeded Cornerstone (13-9).

There was also a tie for the final spot in the tournament as Northwestern Ohio and Aquinas finished with 8-14 records. UNOH won the tie breaker based on records against higher seeds in the tournament.

Davenport won last year's tournament after sharing the regular season championship with Concordia. With the top seed, Davenport receives the conference's first automatic berth to the 2013 NAIA Division II Women's Basketball National Championship Tournament in Sioux City, Iowa March 6-12. The winner of the conference tournament receives the second berth. The tournament runner-up receives the second berth should Davenport win the tournament.

 

First Round Pairings

#8 Northwestern Ohio (11-19/6-14) at #1 Davenport (27-2/20-2), 7:30 p.m.
#7 Michigan-Dearborn (10-18/9-13) at #2 Concordia (25-5/12-2), 7 p.m.
#6 Indiana Tech (13-17/11-11) at #3 Siena Heights (22-8/17-5), 7:30 p.m.
#5 Cornerstone (19-11/13-9) at #4 Madonna (19-10/15-7), 7:30 p.m.
 

Click here for complete bracket and results.  |  Click here to view the tournament guide.

 
No Events Today
Tuesday, May 30
Softball
Monday, May 29
Softball
Saturday, May 27
Softball
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Friday, May 26
Men's Outdoor T & F
Softball
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Women's Golf
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Women's Golf
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Thursday, May 25
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Women's Golf
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Women's Golf
Men's Outdoor T & F
Women's Outdoor T & F
Wednesday, May 24
Women's Golf
Wednesday, Aug 9
Men's Soccer
Tuesday, Aug 22
Women's Soccer
Friday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Aug 26
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Sep 2
Men's Soccer
Sunday, Sep 3
Women's Soccer
Tuesday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
Wednesday, Sep 6
Men's Soccer
Friday, Sep 8
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Sep 9
Men's Soccer
Monday, Sep 11
Men's Soccer
Tuesday, Sep 12
Women's Soccer
Wednesday, Sep 13
Volleyball
Thursday, Sep 14
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Sep 16
Women's Soccer
Men's Soccer
Tuesday, Sep 19
Men's Soccer
 
 
 
NAIA
NAIA